ShouShu - Shou Shu

Dedicated to Moore's Shou Shu - ShouShu
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: In Memory of Shifu Dave Dever
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:13 am 

Yesterday afternoon, I was informed that Shifu Dave Dever (4th degree) had died.

Shifu Dever started Shou Shu many years ago under Shifu Doyle Ish in the Phoenix School. After the school closed, Shifu Dever ran his own school. In the early 90' Shifu Dever became the student of Da Shifu Sr. I remember how Dave explained that he would drive once a month from Phoenix to Lodi to take lessons.

I recall meeting Dave many years ago for the first time when I was a student at camp (Tower Park Marina campground) and he had recently been awarded his 3rd degree. Many years later (about 16 years later), when I moved to Yuma, Arizona, Dave called me and said Jung Moon told him to call me so he could start working out again. So, we started working out at my house in Yuma about twice a month. Then, Shifu Dever was promoted to 4th degree about 2 years ago at a beast seminar. Subsequently, he took master classes under Da Shifu Freier and would travel from Phoenix to Clovis, California, for lessons; and, from Phoenix, to Yuma to help out at the studio. One of the last people Shifu Dever taught up through black belt was Shifu Michael Gaughan out of Phoenix.

Dave was a Christian, a teacher, a black belt, and a good friend. In addition to being a very good martial artist, he was in a martial arts movie playing a referee (he had the Moores Shou Shu patch on his gi), and he even taught the US navy seals hand-to-hand combat for a short stint.

Dave is survived by his son Derek and his whole Shou Shu family of black belts. May the mercy of eternal God be upon you Dave and may you rest in peace my friend.

Shi Gung Bobby Way

Do not fear those who deprive the body of life but cannot destroy the soul. Rather, fear him who can destroy both body and soul. Mt 10:28